Submit this form
Home News Videos Music Photos Facebook Twitter Friends Newsletter Podcasts Mobile RSS
28th SADC summit concludes with launch of FTA

Previous article | Next
XINHUA - August 18, 2008

The 28th summit of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) concluded here Sunday with the launch of the Free Trade Area (FTA). The review of the political situation in the region and the launch of FTA dominated the agenda of the two-day summit. It was decided that the summit of the bloc for the next year will be held in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The Southern African Development Community (SADC) was formed in Lusaka, Zambia on April 1, 1980, following the adoption of the Lusaka Declaration, SADC website says. Based in Gaborone, Botswana, SADC member states comprise Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Related articles

  1. Southern African Leaders to Meet in Zimbabwe (August 15, 2014)
  2. New DR Congo amnesty law welcomed by UN envoys (February 5, 2014)
  3. DR Congo, M23 Rebels Sign Declarations Marking End of Kampala Peace Talks (December 12, 2013)
  4. DR Congo Will Defend Itself Against an Attack by Rwanda, Government Says (August 31, 2013)
  5. UN Security Council debate focuses on peace efforts for Africa's Great Lakes region (July 25, 2013)
  6. Warlord Bosco Ntaganda Turns Himself In at US Embassy in Rwanda (March 18, 2013)
  7. Regional Leaders Sign DR Congo Peace Deal (February 24, 2013)
  8. UN Security Council condemns 'any and all outside support' to M23 rebels (October 19, 2012)
  9. At high-level meeting, Ban urges political solution to crisis in eastern DR Congo (September 27, 2012)
  10. Observers Hail Successful DR Congo Elections (December 1, 2011)
  11. President Jacob Zuma ends working visit to the DRC (June 21, 2011)
  12. SADC Summit to Discuss Zimbabwe's Political Progress (August 16, 2010)
  13. Congo Celebrates 50th Anniversary of Independence (June 30, 2010)
  14. Southern African countries move to single visa zone (February 26, 2010)
  15. SADC Council of Ministers Meeting in DRC for Budget Approval (February 22, 2010)
  16. Southern African Ministers Prepare Report on Regional Crises (January 7, 2010)
  17. DR Congo, Zambia hold commission meeting on cooperation (November 6, 2009)
  18. SADC leaders to meet on Zimbabwe current crisis (November 5, 2009)
  19. President Jacob Zuma to Co-Chair the 6th SA-DRC Bi-National Summit in Pretoria (October 30, 2009)
  20. DR Congo to host CEEAC summit on peace, integration, environment (October 23, 2009)
  21. President Joseph Kabila to visit Zimbabwe (October 23, 2009)
  22. Zimbabwe Power-Sharing Rivals Step Up Regional Lobbying Ahead of Crisis Talks (October 22, 2009)
  23. Zimbabwe PM Begins Regional Tour (October 20, 2009)
  24. Madagascar says to withdraw from SADC (September 30, 2009)
  25. Madagascar President Prevented from Taking Floor at UN General Assembly (September 25, 2009)
  26. Southern African Grouping Proposes Extraordinary Summit on Zimbabwe (September 7, 2009)
  27. SADC Leaders Open Summit in Kinshasa (September 7, 2009)
  28. President Kabila to Meet All DRC Governors (August 18, 2009)
  29. OECD says African Economic Growth Will be Cut by Half (May 11, 2009)
  30. SADC standby forces ready to intervene in DR Congo, Madagascar (February 23, 2009)

Live TV Congo Radio en ligne Radio

Make Your Home Page | Contact Us | About Us | ╔dition en Franšais | French Edition

© 2018 All rights reserved.